Good Morning World

I woke up this morning to a bit of exciting. In my FB inbox was an invitation to put my book on The Vampire Book Realm. The social networking gears are grinding into life already. Of course I’ll say yes!

Check it out; www.vampirebookrealm.com What a great site.

On another note, I’ve been thinking a lot about daily word counts lately. It all started when a fellow student at the writer’s institute gave a presentation on the writer’s life. She stressed the importance of regular, structured writing time in a distraction free sanctuary. ImageThis is me working on novel number two. You can see exactly how much I crave that sanctuary.

So what do you do if that dream isn’t a reality? What do I do? How do I get my word count up and beat the ever present critic in my head if I am constantly distracted? Apparently I set a very low daily minimum count, so said Helen Lowe, YA fantasy author and last weeks guest speaker at school. Her’s, she said, is 200 words. My mouth dropped open, 200? So totally achievable, no matter what.

I’ve been trying it and you know what, it works. It really works. So far I’ve managed at least double that daily and a few times I’ve gone well into the thousands. The best thing about it though is that on the days I only manage 3 or 4 hundy I’m no longer beating myself up. I’ve gone over my minimum goal! Instead of feeling like a failure, I’ve succeeded. Riding the warm wind of that success, open the keyboard the next day and out the words flood. The cycle of writer’s block and self flagellation is broken.

2 thoughts on “Good Morning World

  1. D.C. Stone says:

    Oh good point on the 200 words a day. It is a very small amount when you think on a scene but so achievable. And like you said, in the end, when you meet that 200, you feel as though you have accomplished something instead of beating yourself up for not writing at all. We’ll said and thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Shyla Colt says:

    What a great idea! Wonderful post Evie!

Leave a Reply

