Early days

I’m into day two of trying something new after reading this fantastic post http://www.sfwa.org/2011/12/guest-post-how-i-went-from-writing-2000-words-a-day-to-10000-words-a-day/ by professional author, Rachel Aaron.

So yesterday I plotted out exactly what was going to happen in my scene. Usually I just show up at my computer and see what happens which leads to long moments of frustration and brain wrecking, fruitless thought. It was great to have a bit of structure to follow and I found it a whole lot easier to move from one bridge to the next. Unfortunately my word count didn’t increase, but I’m blaming not much sleep for that.

My characters are in the early stages of attraction and I have to work hard to build the tension between them without it feeling unreal. This isn’t helped by my heroine. She’s a closed mouthed girl and doesn’t seem to want to tell me much. She keeps giving me that look that says ‘you figure it out.’ Tart!

Thankfully my hero is a more talkative type.

2 thoughts on “Early days

  1. Olivia says:

    Hi Evie,

    Just found your ebook “Lucacy and the Vampire” and from the excerpt it sounds fantastic. I was wondering if you wanted an honest review and if so could you send me an epub copy to read and review on B&N, Amazon and Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

