Hitting the deep spot.

Several years ago, well before I started writing again, I had my crowning moment as a working artist. 

I had taken one of my sculptures to a family gathering to show my gran. It was sitting n her spare room, safe from the danger of small hands.

I took her in to see it and found my aunty standing in front of the sculpture with tears streaming down her cheeks. That was my moment, seeing my work hitting that deep spot in someone, effecting them. It meant far more to me than any sale, or rave reviews could. 

Over the years I have read a few books that have hit my spot, stayed with me and effected me. I’ve fallen in love with their characters, been drawn into their struggles.

This morning I got a fantastic email, one telling me I’ve hit someone’s spot. 

“Your book blew me away.  I read it right away and then had to put it aside.  I needed time to think about it before I wrote a review. Then I picked it up and read it again.  Even now, I am not sure if the review can do justice to how I feel about the book.” 

It doesn’t get any better than that for this author. 

Leave a Reply

