Brand me biatch.

 So I’ve been thinking a lot about marketing of late and how us indie authors have to learn to market ourselves as best we can. This does not come naturally to me.

In fact, I’ve been so naive about it that I basically did nothing to promote my debut novel. I didn’t connect with any author promotion pages on facebook, I didn’t find out who my readership was likely to be. I barely gave the cover a second glance, figuring that the publisher knew the market better than me. I didn’t know about blog hops, in fact I barely knew about blogs and, like most artist/authors, I was far too busy writing to bother with that sort of thing.

Oh boy have I learnt.

My recent push to blog regularly stems from finally understanding that I need to keep myself out there on this wonderful thing called the social network, or I will fade into obscurity. Yet another forgotten indie author who never made it past one publication. My dreams forgotten, my life given to a nine to five that I can hardly stand.

Well I say no! I say I want to write, I need to write. I want my fans to look forward to my releases. I want the people who read my work to be transported away from the monotony of daily life. I want my imaginary friends to keep speaking through me.

So my next focus on my ‘learning to self promote journey’ is branding. How do I brand myself in a way that is clear, concise and attracts the kind of readership that is going to enjoy what I write ?

This is something else I don’t find easy, mainly because my personal taste has to stay out of it.

I have jumped around various PNR authors pages, studying and assessing the way they are presented. There are definitely pages that you know from the instant you land what the author writes. These are the ones I want to emulate. I want people to take one glance at my web page/blog/facebook and know that I am a paranormal romance author.

Unfortunately my personal taste runs to the more obscure.

For example: below is an image I created of how I see one of my characters.

Image

 Just screams sexy, modern, paranormal romance/urban fantasy set in a city environment. NOT!

So I finally get it. I can’t brand myself with the images that match what I see in my head. I have to think about my readership. I have to communicate in a way that is clear, that says what it is I actually do.

So with that in mind I have been playing with my website.

http://eviejayne.com/

Tell me what you think. Have I cracked it, am I way off or am I moving in the right direction? 

I’m sure this will be an ongoing journey, but I am pleased to say I am finally on the train.

 

2 thoughts on “Brand me biatch.

  1. Megan says:

    Website looks good to me – matches your blog and leaves room for the inevitable growth as you become a huge success. You can number me as one of your fans waiting for the next book…

Leave a Reply

